Week in the Life – Saturday

7:00am: There are days when you just want to sleep in due to a busy week and because your body needs it. There are days like Saturday when this is totally possible because you don’t have work or kids or pets. There are days when, despite all of this, you are still awake at 7am. Today is that day. Gah! 😉

20170422_074540

The top of the dresser where the tv is, and the top of my scrapbooking desk to the left are chaos due to my on-going Spring cleaning and reorganization that was completely unplanned, but that feels good to be doing. I’m hoping to get a bunch done this weekend, in between plans with family and friends.

9:45am: Wrapping the Frank Sinatra book we got my mother-in-law. She is a huge fan, and will love it. I adore wrapping presents, especially when the wrapping paper is so much fun!

20170422_101046.jpg

12:30pm: Birthday lunch = Mexican food at El Indio. My San Diego burrito is amazing, although their guacamole isn’t as good as what Tom makes (his guac is the only reason I suddenly eat avocados and guac at all!).

20170422_113349

4:00pm: Home for a bit before we meet friends for bowling. We haven’t been to a bowling alley since we first started dating in 2012. Before that, it was Grade 4. This is likely the reason that I am terrible at bowling. Like, TERRIBLE. I’m a tad nervous about making a fool of myself tonight, but our friends have assured me that they are terrible too (they are nice people!).

I can be a very outgoing person, especially when it comes to work. In the business world, I can be downright fearless and outspoken and no-holds-barred sometimes. In social situations, I struggle. I’m often awkward and weird when I don’t know people, or don’t know the place, or aren’t proficient with the activity. Tonight, I am worried because I suck at bowling, I don’t know half the people who will be there, and my leg is sore from the spider bite (and resulting surgery – story for another time). But, Tom is all excited to go, as bowling is a big favorite in his family. My father-in-law bowls competitively (I hope he never sees me bowl).

For now, we play our Episode 7 Star Wars LEGO video game. We share a love of LEGO, and these games are bonding time for us. I love smashing things to earn the bits used to buy characters and ships and stuff. LOVE IT.

20170422_185743

8:30pm: Time for some bowling! Can I just say that bowling shoes are the ugliest things ever made? Still nervous, but let’s do this! They already know that I suck, and I shouldn’t really care, because this isn’t a formal sporting event. In my head I hear the words of Debbie Reynolds in the obscure movie “Connie and Carla”, “chin up, boobs out, it’s showtime!”. This is for you, Debbie!

Okay, so I didn’t need to be nervous. It turns out that when I don’t care, I can actually bowl not too bad! Second place on the first game for me, and Tom won the second game. Yay us!

Best of all? Meeting new people who are awesome. We had so many laughs! Everyone was super supportive, nobody was competitive, so much cheering and fun.

So very rad.

And this guy – I am grateful every day that I have him in my life. I am grateful that he is supportive, but also nudges me into things when he can sense that I don’t want to do them, because he knows I will likely love it when I get there. I am grateful for the laughs we share all the time.

I am grateful for this evening of new friends and plans to do this again in the future!

Leave a Reply

