Life: it never goes as planned

Back in November, I had what appeared to be several bites on my right leg. Small, seemingly insignificant bites that didn’t really itch or cause me any grief. A few days later, I was freezing cold, which is entirely odd for me, as I usually run very warm. The next day, my right leg was covered with a purple rash, and had swollen twice its size.

Did I go to the doctor? Of course not. “It’s an allergic reaction to the bites.”

I mean, my Mom used to get like that, and my brother still does.

The leg rash disappeared, but was still puffy. It got worse over time, with pain, swelling, and the wounds started going “weird”. In outrageous pain, I drove myself to the ER at 4:00 am and tried not to hysterically cry and curl up into a ball in the corner from the sheer pain that was shooting through my leg.

20161205_044449

Turns out, a nasty California spider got me (second time since moving down here – they love my pale, sweet, Canadian skin!). The bites had cause cellulitis in the leg, and they admitted me for a week’s worth of heavy duty antibiotics, pain meds, and surgery.

Not at all what I had planned for my December.

Not at all how I wanted to experience the holiday season.

It is now February, and I still have a hole in my leg from the surgery. I have a very meticulous husband who is patiently packing the wound daily, so that it can heal from the inside, out, so that nothing else gets infected or nasty.

We are not sure if it was a brown recluse or hobo spider, as they are both poisonous and nasty. You’d think after two episodes with these buggers that I’d have super powers or something.

I feel cheated!

And so, I am trying to remain patient, and heal, and focus on the good things in life, despite the ongoing pain and frustration that a bum leg provides.

I am thankful that the challenging year of 2016 is over.

I am thankful for my wonderful husband.

I am thankful for my scrapbooking, which I have been able to pick up after completing my “Days of Gratitude” album from November and my “Holiday Daily” from December 1 until January 7 (I always go longer to include Ukrainian Christmas).

I am thankful for a job that challenges me in new ways daily.

I am thankful for online forums and groups that give me an escape to new places and new thoughts.

I am thankful that while this was a very difficult experience, it could have been so much worse. So very, very worse.

I am just so thankful.

T

Leave a Reply

